Types of Pink & Yellow Hibiscus

The Hibiscus genus includes several hundred species, famed for their showy blossoms. The Chinese hibiscus (Hibiscus rosa-sinensis), a perennial shrub from the tropics, has white, red, pink or yellowish flowers and can be grown in U.S. Department of Agriculture plant hardiness zones 9 through 10. Deciduous hibiscus, sometimes called mallows, typically have red or pink blossoms and grow in USDA zones 4 through 9.

Most Famous Yellow Hibiscus

The state flower of Hawaii, Ma’o hau hele (Hibiscus brackenridgei) produces a yellow flower 4 to 6 inches in diameter on a shrub which grows from 3 to 15 feet tall. The yellow flowers, typically with a maroon center, produced in tiny clusters or separately on the ends of the branches, accessible between 2 and 4 p.m. and close involving 9 a.m. and one p.m.. The Mao’o hau hele rises in USDA zones 10 through 11.

Chinese Hibiscus With Pink Blossoms

Chinese hibiscus cultivars either have single or double rows of petals on the flowers. “Dainty,” “Miami Lady,” “Minerva,” “Mrs. Mary Johnson” and “Ross Estey” have big pink blossoms with one row of petals. Pink cultivars with a double row of petals include “Flamingo,” “Kona,” “Mary Morgan” and “Peachblow.”

Chinese Hibiscus With Yellow Blossoms

Chinese hibiscus cultivars with big yellow blossoms with one row single petals include “Hula Girl,” “Old Gold,” “Penny’s Sunset” and “Veronica.” “Crown of Bohemia,” “Full Moon,” “Hilo Island” and “Peggy Hendry” have big yellow double blooms. “Veronica” has additional big saffron-yellow flowers with double cones.

Deciduous Hibiscus

A deciduous hibiscus with a yellow blossom, “Old Yella” (Hibiscus “Old Yella”) rises in USDA zones 4 through 9. Two cultivars with pink blossoms, “Disco Belle Pink” (Hibiscus “Disco Belle Pink”) and “Fantasia” (Hibiscus “Fantasia”) also grow in USDA zones 4 through 9. Rose of Sharon “Lucy” (Hibiscus syriacus “Lucy”) produces pink or crimson blossoms in USDA zones 5 through 8, and the confederate increased variety “Plenus” (Hibiscus mutabilis “Plenus”) grows large pink double blossoms in USDA zones 7 through 9.

See related